I had a full day today. Went to Costco with my mom (I know that doesn’t sound like much, but it took a long time…there’re always so many things to check out – often distractions that you don’t really need to buy or, for that matter, even bother looking at – but, I take the time to look anyway! Also, I always end up buying more than I go for! Everything always seems like “Oh, it’s such a good deal!!” And then you buy something you didn’t really need or want in the first place – lol). By the time we left Costco and went to my parent’s to drop off my mom & pick up my little man (he got to hang out with Grandad, instead of being stuck at boring Costco) it was close to 5:00. We drove home, just in time to be engulfed by rush-hour traffic! (Well planned, right!?) By the time we got home, my hubby got home only about 30 minutes or so after us. Before we went out, to see the new Avengers movie, my wonderful family gave me a homemade coupon book full of things that they’ll do for me whenever I “use” or “hand-in”a coupon. Including a drawing course from my hubby!! (Yay me!!) I’ve dabbled a bit with water colour painting among other mediums. I really enjoy it. I grew up always always wishing I could draw (my sister is such a good drawer and I envied it so so much!!). I’ve felt like one of those people who could basically draw stick-people and not much more. (Sometimes even my stick-people were hard to decipher!!) I was always interested, but felt like I couldn’t do anything artistic! Like I had a big fat zero when it came to artistic talent! But, it was something that was always in the back of my mind, something I wanted to do, but didn’t follow through with. When I did the water colour courses and the creative journaling class I always felt good, or right somehow…not sure if that makes sense. I just feel this tug from my chest that pulls me towards writing and painting and drawing, well, just to “create”. It feels like home. The problem is my unstoppable tendency toward self-criticism!! In those art classes and when I muddle around at home, I still find myself struggling. Drawing is not easy for me and I have to work at things for a very long time. I realized that I am missing some of the basics. In school, once you get to a certain age, art class becomes optional and only the “talented, artsy, kids” continue with art class. This is sad because the “how to” of drawing is taught to the kids who continue. They learn the “tricks” or rather the skills needed. They learn how to draw! The rest of us just shake it off, with a little shrug or self-conscious giggle, when asked if they can draw. But, the more I read, the more I see that drawing is a skill. Yes, some people are naturally artistic and talented, but that doesn’t mean the rest of us just “can’t draw”. No, it means we were never taught to draw! So, my point is, that I love the idea of drawing and I lose myself, not just while writing, but when I paint or do anything “artsy”. I’ve wanted to take a “how to draw” class for a long time. I’m hoping that I can find a class that will work out, time-wise, for me!! And, it’s super late and I don’t know how I went from a quick account of my day to a talk about art…strange where the mind goes!
Oh, before I post this, I want to thank everyone for the warm birthday wishes! Much much appreciated. I’m blessed to have such good family & friends😍
To help with research and treatment for Trigeminal Neuralgia please go to http://www.tnnme.com (Trigeminal Neuralgia and Me) to sign a petition to have the World Health Organization (WHO) add Trigeminal Neuralgia (TN) to their “Health Topic List”!
Hopefully one day I’ll get it right, or at least have fun, while about it I write!!